Berrellez installed as chairman of VICA

Victor Berrellez, new VICA chair

Victor Berrellez was appointed chairman of the Valley Industry and Commerce Association on Friday. He succeeds Brad Rosenheim, whose two-year term largely coincided with the coronavirus pandemic.

Rosenheim of land consultancy Rosenheim and Associates told the crowd of about 250 over lunch at the Garland Hotel in North Hollywood that not only was the pandemic a defining feature of his tenure, but last year’s social unrest caused VICA to consider aspects of the movement for to incorporate social justice into their mission, which is primarily to represent the business interests of the Valley Region.

Berrellez, of US Bank, thanked everyone who worked with and inspired him, including Lupita Sanchez Cornejo of AT&T, a board member of VICA, and said that during his upcoming two-year tenure he will be diligently working on behalf of VICA’s more than 300 members who are among the most committed business leaders in the Valley region.

The lunch, VICAs 72nd Annual general meeting last year was not held in person because of the pandemic.

In another campaign, Timothy Gaspar from Gaspar Insurance Services received the first David Adelman Inspiration Award. Adelman, a longtime VICA leader passionate about helping nonprofits, died last March.

VICA’s Robert E. Gibson Corporate Award of Excellence went to Midwood Investment and Development, owner of Sportsman’s Lodge, which opened shops at Sportsmen’s Lodge this week. The President’s Award went to Pamela Marcello from Hollywood Burbank Airport. The Harmon Ballin Community Service Award went to Mark Davis of Sun Hill Properties, owner of the Hilton Universal hotel.

Mike Feuer, the Los Angeles district attorney running for mayor, sworn in on the VICA board of directors for the coming year. VICA has a total of 80 board members.

In addition, three grants of $ 1,000 were awarded. The Rickey M. Gelb Fellowship went to Giovanni Divaia of Los Angeles Valley College; the Melvyn A. Kohn Memorial Fellowship went to Aroa Kim of Granada Hills Charter High School; and the Marvin R. Selter Memorial Fellowship went to Abigail Pangilinan of California Lutheran University.

Comments are closed.